Introduction

 

Hi. I’m Steve, WB8YLO. I’m an Extra Class amateur radio licensee.I am interested in communications. I am interested in radio communication in particular. I have a quite modest station so I’m not a top DXer, Super contester, or anything else that requires large amplifiers, huge antenna arrays, and the like.

My interests in radio communication are many and varied and are subject to change at any time. I consider this a big plus for amateur radio. There is always something new and interesting to do. There is always something to learn.

I do enjoy working the occasional contest. I generally prefer CW (Morse code) over voice and digital modes. My current big interest is in passing traffic via the National Traffic System. I am quite active in the Ohio Slow Speed CW Training Net where I am the net control station on Tuesdays. I also frequently check in to my local ARES traffic net and act as liaison to the Ohio Section CW net, the Buckeye Net. I occasionally do check in to the Ohio Single Sideband Net,  a state-wide voice net.

My intent is to post a lot of training and reference material on the blog. There is a ton of information out in net-land and elsewhere and sometimes it is difficult to find. I intend to gather a lot of useful information here and make it easy to find. I am also interested in training. I will be publishing a lot of training material here, also.

I’ll get started by posting what I think will be useful. How it goes will depend upon those of you who read this blog and contact me with corrections, questions, comments and requests. You, the reader, will determine the ultimate direction the blog takes. I’m excited about the prospects and am looking forward to getting started. Enjoy!

About wb8ylo

I was first licensed in 1976 as a Conditional Class licensee. I was grandfathered to General when the Conditional was discontinued. I upgraded to Extra in 1980 at the FCC Office in Detroit, MI. I operated as DA1NJ while stationed in Germany from 1975 - 1978. My MARS call was AE1NJ. I also have an FCC issued commercial General Radiotelephone Operator License.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.